White Co. Receives Grant for DeRossett Railroad Section House Improvement

by TN Press Release Center on September 5, 2012

Press release from the Tennessee Department of Transportation; Sept. 5, 2012: 

NASHVILLE, Tenn. – Tennessee Gov. Bill Haslam and Tennessee Department of Transportation (TDOT) Commissioner John Schroer announced today the award of a $118,071 transportation enhancement grant to White County for the DeRossett Railroad Section House Site Improvement Project.

The DeRossett Railroad Section House Site Improvement Project will add Americans with Disability Act compliant walkways, paved parking to include improved access for handicapped persons, and lighting. The improvements are all designed to improve the aesthetics and safety of the Nashville, Chattanooga, and St. Louis Railway Section House Museum. The Section House was restored to its original condition by the local historical society, and was placed on the National Register of Historic Places in July 2011.

“Tennessee is rich with historic landmarks such as the Railroad Section House, and preserving them for future generations to enjoy and appreciate is important,” Haslam said. “These upgrades will improve accessibility for something that has become a popular destination for tourists, and we are pleased to support the project.”

“Through Transportation Enhancement grants, TDOT has funded more than $270 million in non-traditional transportation projects,” said TDOT Commissioner John Schroer. “This program has assisted communities all over the state in their efforts to revitalize downtowns, highlight historic areas, provide alternative means of transportation, and increase opportunities for economic development.”

A variety of activities such as the restoration of historic facilities, bike and pedestrian trails, landscaping and other non-traditional transportation projects are eligible for grant funds under the federal program.

State Senator Charlotte Burks (D-Monterey) and Representative Charles Curtiss (D-Sparta) represent White County in the Tennessee General Assembly.

Previous post:

Next post: