6 TN Schools Recognized as 2012 National Blue Ribbon Schools

by TN Press Release Center on September 7, 2012

Press release from the Tennessee Department of Education; Sept. 7, 2012: 

NASHVILLE – The Tennessee Department of Education is proud to announce that six Tennessee schools have been chosen as 2012 National Blue Ribbon Schools.

The award, presented by the U.S. Department of Education, honors public and private schools whose students attain and maintain high academic goals that work toward closing achievement gaps.

“This is an outstanding accomplishment that took effort from students, teachers, administrators and parents,” Education Commissioner Kevin Huffman said. “It is so important for us to recognize the good work that goes on in Tennessee schools and try to replicate that success.”

The 269 winning schools nationwide will receive $2,500 and recognition during a ceremony in Washington, D.C. in November. Tennessee’s 2012 National Blue Ribbon Schools are:

  • Cascade Elementary: Bedford County Schools, Paulette Bond, Principal
  • E.E. Jeter Elementary: Shelby County Schools, Martha Fisher, Principal
  • Glenwood Elementary: Oak Ridge Schools, Pearl Goins, Principal
  • John Hay Elementary: Hamblen County Schools, Matthew Drinnon, Principal
  • Merrol Hyde Magnet School: Sumner County, Brad Schreiner, Principal
  • The Discovery School at Reeves Rogers: Murfreesboro, Linda Clark, Principal

The National Blue Ribbon Schools program recognizes schools in one of two categories. The first category is “Exemplary High Performing,” in which schools are recognized among their state’s highest-performing schools, as measured by state assessments or nationally normed tests.

The second category is “Exemplary Improving,” in which schools that have at least 40 percent of their students from disadvantaged backgrounds demonstrate the most progress in improving student achievement levels as measured by state assessments or nationally normed tests.

Each of Tennessee’s winners were recognized as Exemplary High Performing schools.

“Our nation has no greater responsibility than helping all children realize their full potential,” U.S. Education Secretary Arne Duncan said in a prepared statement. “Schools honored with the National Blue Ribbon Schools award are committed to accelerating student achievement and preparing students for success in college and careers. Their work reflects the conviction that every child has promise and that education is the surest pathway to a strong, secure future.”

Previous post:

Next post: